Issue connecting to Allen Bradley PLC

I am trying to connect Ignition to an Allen Bradley PLC.

All it says is:
Disconnected: Protocol EIP : Unknown

Any clue what this means? Or, how to debug this?

What kind of AB PLC? What driver are you trying to use? Are there any messages in the logs?

I was told it is an Allen Bradley RSLogix.

I tried using the following drivers (none worked):

• Allen-Bradley ControlLogix
  • Allen-Bradley CompactLogix
  • Allen-Bradley SLC

How do I find messages in the logs?

The logs are in the status section of the gateway.

I think this would best be handled with a call to support, though.

I would have to agree, because I am also fairly new to the Rockwell Automation software. I can possibly help you with this very soon, because it looked to be a familiar message on the Rockwell website. Things to bear in mind: RSLogix Studio 5000 software is what most folks use for versions above 20- that is a hint which relates to selection. The 5000 software pertains to certain newer models. It is used to program Rungs and Tags, etc. which an HMI would access. RSLinx Classic would still be used, but not for that purpose- and NOT on the same device driver -for example- they cannot both use the same Ethernet driver- one must use a different route. Re: Rockwell, FactoryTalk View Studio is a different & third piece of the puzzle. In the case of Ignition, you have an OPC-UA machine which can communicate- given the correct driver for Rockwell. You may need to call in a professional ( as many folks at the Ignition / Inductive Automation help desk are ) if you do not have any of the other software listed above nor a Rockwell account.O.K.- I misrepresented something here. FactoryTalk View includes RSLogix Enterprise, which is different than RSLogix CLASSIC. In order to run both on the same PC, you should have different drivers ie Ethernet or DF-1 etc. YET the same Port on the equipment or Network. The RSLinx Classic is used to allow uploads and downloads o