Script won't delete rows in database

Hello, I’m really new to Ignition 8 and programming in general. I’m trying to follow the instructions as per Simple Database Editor - Ignition User Manual 8.0 - Ignition Documentation with some changes as appropriate to my database (column names, etc). So far the function to add a line is working fine, but I can’t seem to make headway on the delete function. When I test the page and select lines and delete them, nothing happens. No error message, no rows get deleted. I tried using the Database Query browser and the Query itself works fine (deletes a row if I specify the Name or ID, or such). I’ve added my customized script here.

Hoping someone can see what I’ve done…

The code looks ok. It relies on the format of the table and the named query to be correct though.
To debug I’d put in a few print statements to see where its failing.
E.g. “print id” statement after it gets the id to make sure it’s getting the right value.

Also, have you tried testing the named query by itself in the Named Query testing tab, or from the ScriptConsole?

1 Like

On top of what @DavidWisely said, I would also add a variable to your system.db.runNamedQuery() function. For an update query, it should return an int representing how many records are affected.

nq = system.db.runNamedQuery("Customers/Customers Deleting", {"Customer_ID":id})
print nq

I also agree with @DavidWisely about testing the named query. I would test it in the Script Console to make sure it functions correctly when called from a script.

Are you sure your logic is right in line 8…

should it not be; Are you Sure?, 1

Unless I’m wrong, the 0 isn’t needed, if he had a 1 then it would give a yes/no/cancel option instead of just yes/no. The no still returns a 0 which would send him to the else statement. The cancel option would just allow a None to be returned.

If I had to guess, I think it probably has to do with the named query.