[SOLVED] Get NMEA sentence (system.serial)

Hello,

I’m still quite new to Ignition (using 8.0.17), one of the subjects I’m having troubles with is getting NMEA0183 sentences from a sensor. I guess the sensor is connected as it should as I can use the manufacturer utility to read values and it works. The wiring is through a RS422 Half-Duplex serial interface card into a Hatteland screen (Norwegian marine brand) which has a quite unclear documentation.

Now, I’m trying to get those data into Ignition which is much harder. I did call the sensor manufacturer to make sure that all configurations set with configureSerialPort are correct.
I also looked into those topics here on the forum:

1. How to listen serial data without interruption
  2. readBytesAsString Error
  3. Help with system.serial.readUntil

I’m trying to validate the code into the script console without much success, here’s the code (I tried system.serial.configureSerialPort and with system.serial.port) :

I should maybe mention that the first line in the interpreter (on the right) doesn’t appear while using with system.serial.port code, probably normal though. I tried reading with either one of the lines in the picture but I couldn’t get any positive results from that.

I tried everything I could think of and I still fall short of a solution. In all I could find about the serial communication scripting on the forum, I did not see much people having issues connecting in the first place so I guess I should ask for help connecting :slight_smile:

Can this kind of code be tested in the Script Console?

Thank you very much for your help.

I think would need more info to start to help.

1. Are you connected to the gateway? This will not work from a client.
  2. The try and except stops the console from saying what part of your code is causing the issue. What does it show if you try it without the try/except.
  3. What should the data from your serial device look like?