TCP periodic polling and data handling

I am new to Ignition. Just trying to write a custom driver to use TCP connection, periodically poll for new data, and handle new data updates.

I have already used the TCP driver that is part of ignition to connect to my TCP Server. I can connect, write to it and receive data back.

In the Message Tag associated with the TCP driver I can see my data. How do I access this programmatically?

I can write to my TCP server using the Writeable Tag through the Ignition GUI. How do I programmatically do this periodically?

From what I can tell I should be able to use the TCP module then make my own Custom handler module? Or should I write a completely custom TCP module that can access all these Tags and do the polling?

Use a 'value changed' script on the message tag. Make a script library and call the function in that change script.

for example:

def valueChanged(tag, tagPath, previousValue, currentValue, initialChange, missedEvents):
	TCPdriver.newMessageRecieved(currentValue.value)

On sending requests, it will be best to use Gateway Scripts to send data to that TCP device. You can make it event based or just periodic.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Where do you find these driver methods? such as TCPdriver.newMessageRecieved

I am looking and do not see this documented anywhere. I am guessing there is also a similar method for TCPdriver.newMessageSend?

The TCP driver is not an open source item. You won't find its classes and methods documented because IA doesn't expect/want anyone to drill inside it.

You would start from the OPC UA device sample in the github examples repo and write all the java comms you need from scratch.

Ok so from my first post "From what I can tell I should be able to use the TCP module then make my own Custom handler module? Or should I write a completely custom TCP module that can access all these Tags and do the polling?"...