Using Ignition With Wonderware/Aveva Historian

What is the best way to directly connect Ignition 8.1 to a Wonderware Historian (WWH) so our engineers and technicians can drag and drop tags from WWH and view historical data. We have a firmly entrenched Wonderware System Platform installation and don’t want to move all that to Ignition - although that might not be a bad idea. I’ve seen several posts about migration but that isn’t what I’m looking for. We want to Ignition to co-exist with WWH and use it, not the internal Ignition historian. We don’t want to rebuild our data acquisition and historian infrastructure. We do want to use Ignition for building mobile screens in Perspective. Any advice?

I’m an absolute noob - been using Ignition about a week now, so this could be something I should already know, so sorry about that. I’m really trying to compare/evaluate how to access WWH: SQL JDBC? OPC-UA? OPC-HDA?

1 Like

The WWH supports direct SQL access so just make a Microsoft SQL connection to it and write the queries you need to pull the historical trends.

You can use SQL bindings in perspective to get the data you need to feed the charting components.

The difficult part will be mapping tags you have created in Ignition (assuming you have made any) to the Wonderware Historian source.

If you have not made any tags yet. I would suggest you make a specific UDT to capture the data you need:

1. OPC connection to actual PLC/Field devices.
  2. Tag name for the SQL query to the WWH
  3. SQL tag to grab the WWH data only when the date parameters change. Do not have it be polling all the time or it will flood your database connection with unnecessary queries!

You will find out quickly with Ignition there are many ways to implement a solution. Unlike Wonderware that really has only one path.

Brandon