Zeroing variable daily - not midnight

Actually a bunch of questions, I’m new to Ignition, and even my PLC skills sometimes are a little rusty, but a new job has me trying to come up to speed fast. We’re doing a little in Perspective, but my questions, for now, are all in Vision; predecessors to me created a some highly developed windows over the last 10 years. MySQL on the database side. There is still one person in our department who’s very good with automation, but had done less with Ignition tasks that needed scripts or advanced Ignition topics. I’ll start with the question in the title, and may need to start separate threads for the places it branches.

I’m bringing in a raw number from a counter, and doing a little math to make it a daily count. We want to reset the variable for a numeric Label/Text Field daily; maybe 2:00 or 4:00am. A similar counter looks like it was doing the math in the PLC, while Ignition had several additional tags for prior days & handling zeroing. The counter in question here doesn’t need to come through a PLC

Is there a preferred way to do this? Is it best in a script, expression, or a tag script? What is the best way to fire it? Just thinking a couple years down the road, I don’t want things unnecessarily firing every second if it’s an excess load on the software or database.

Thank you!

Welcome!

So how does this field get its variable?

But usually things like that are best run in a gateway script, because else it might trigger multiple times or not at all depending how many clients are open!

1 Like

If you’re on Ignition 8.1.6 or later, check out scheduled scripts.

3 Likes

If you are not in 8.1.6, I think the common accepted way to do this is to create an expression tag of boolean type that is True at the time you want to run your script, and then make a Gateway Event → Tag Change Script and put the logic you want to do there (or preferably in a function but call it there).

1 Like

Thanks all! Version 8.0.15.